#### THIS PRINT COVERS CALENDAR ITEM NO.: 10.5

## MUNICIPAL TRANSPORTATION AGENCY City and County of San Francisco

**DIVISION:** Office of the Board of Directors

#### **BRIEF DESCRIPTION:**

Appointing Joél Ramos, Director, Board of Directors for the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency to represent the Agency on the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2016.

#### **SUMMARY:**

- On August 29, 1994, the City and County of San Francisco, the San Mateo County Transit District and the Santa Clara County Transit District entered into a Joint Powers Agreement to create a Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors.
- The SFMTA Board of Directors appoints one of San Francisco's three members.
- Currently Tom Nolan, Chairman, SFMTA Board of Directors serves as the SFMTA's representative.

#### **ENCLOSURES:**

1. MTAB Resolution

APPROVALS:	- 0-	DATE
DIRECTOR	Typh	11/18/15
SECRETARY	R. Boomer	11/18/15

**ASSIGNED MTAB CALENDAR DATE:** December 1, 2015

#### PAGE 2.

#### **EXPLANATION:**

On August 29, 1994, the City and County of San Francisco, the San Mateo County Transit District and the Santa Clara County Transit District entered into a Joint Powers Agreement to create a Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors. The Board consists of nine members, three from each member agency. They are responsible for planning, administering, maintaining and operating the Peninsula CalTrain Commute service.

One of San Francisco's three members is appointed by the Mayor, one by the Board of Supervisors and the third by the Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors. Currently Tom Nolan, Chairman, SFMTA Board of Directors serves as the SFMTA's representative.

Chairman Nolan has suggested that he be replaced by Director Joél Ramos as a member of the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors.

#### PUBLIC OUTREACH

None.

## **ALTERNATIVES CONSIDERED**

None.

#### **FUNDING IMPACT**

None.

#### **ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT**

On October 28, 2015 the Planning Department concurred with the Municipal Transportation Agency that the proposed appointment is not a "project" for purposes of environmental review under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations Section 15060(c).

The Planning Department's concurrence is on file with the Secretary to the SFMTA Board of Directors.

### OTHER APPROVALS RECEIVED OR STILL REQUIRED

None.

#### RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends the appointment Joél Ramos, Director, SFMTA Board of Directors to serve as a director on the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2016.

# MUNICIPAL TRANSPORTATION AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

RESOLUTION No
WHEREAS, On August 29, 1994, the City and County of San Francisco, the San Mateo County Transit District and the Santa Clara County Transit District entered into a Joint Powers Agreement to create a Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors, consisting of nine members (three from each member agency), to plan, administer, maintain and operate the Peninsula CalTrain Commute Service; and,
WHEREAS, The Joint Powers Agreement provides that one of San Francisco's representatives on the Joint Powers Board would be an appointment of the Public Transportation Commission; and,
WHEREAS, On March 1, 2000, the Municipal Transportation Agency assumed all powers and duties previously held by the Public Transportation Commission;
WHEREAS, The appointment of Joél Ramos does not constitute a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations Section 15060(c); now, therefore be it
RESOLVED, That the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors does hereby appoint Joél Ramos, Director, SFMTA Board of Directors to serve as a director on the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2016.
I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was adopted by the Municipal Transportation
Agency Board of Directors at its meeting of December 1, 2015.

Secretary, Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors